Try not. Do.

As big of a geek as I am, I’ve never really thought about those immortal words given to us by the wise Yoda, but I probably should have. Most people know the quote as “Do, or do not. There is no try.” I prefer my version better.

We all know “try” exists, we’ve all done it. “I’ll try to quit smoking. I’ll try to lose weight.” Inevitably, we fail because we tried.

When we TRY, we open ourselves to the possibility of failure, acknowledging the fact that it is an option. We tend to allow ourselves excuses, but at least we tried. I myself have TRIED to quit smoking, and I’ve failed every time. “Today was too stressful. I was too bored, I need something to distract me.” My biggest one: “It’s just too hard.”

I know quitting smoking is hard, but necessary. I also know that it is possible, plenty of people have done it, just as you know it is possible to lose weight, or whatever you are TRYING to do. We simply need to stop trying and just do it. Remove all possibility of failure from our minds and do it. I know it is easier said than done, but nothing worthwhile is easy.

Motivational speakers have attempted to tell us all along that visualization is key to achieving our goals. The simple way we think about our problem will, more often than not, determine the outcome. When we TRY, we see the avenues of failure, allowing them to guide the results. When we DO, we erase doubt and the chance of failure, increasing the odds of success. Sure, we may still fail at some things, but in the end, success will come more often to those who DO and not TRY.

This entry was posted in Opinions, Personal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Try not. Do.

  1. swamiyesudas says:

    Reblogged this on lovehappinessandpeace and commented:
    So Ok, this is a Very Good one. So I am not going to ‘Try’ to Reblog this, (particularly when that option is open)! I am just going to DO it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

